top of page

Bunion

HALLUX ABDUCTO VALGUS - HAV AND TAILOR'S BUNION

The bunion or hallux abducto valgus (HAV) is a deformity of the big toe at the metatarsal level. It is a deviation of the metatarsal bone towards the outside of the foot, which leads to a deviation of the big toe towards the other toes.

oignon-tailleur.jpg

TAILOR'S BUNION

About this condition

Tailor's bunion is the same type of deformity that affects the fifth toe. This deviation may remain stable or become more pronounced over time. It may or may not be painful. The biggest strain that people with bunions usually experience is the difficulty in finding shoes that are wide enough in the forefoot.

 

Bunions can be acquired or inherited. Acquired bunions are caused by deficiencies in the osteoarticular and ligamentary systems (aging, microtrauma and overloading) and represent nearly 70% of cases. Hereditary bunions usually appear in the first twenty years of a person's life and are called "juvenile". They account for nearly 30% of cases. Thus, bunions can be found in all people, however, women are most often affected. Wearing shoes that are too short, too narrow and/or high heels can aggravate this condition. In men, it is often caused by having flat feet or is hereditary.

voirplus

THINGS TO DO

To avoid pain

Always choose the right size, width and depth of shoes

 

Shop in the afternoon or evening, feet are more swollen!

 

Favour 4 cm (1 ½ '') heels maximum

 

High heels are to be worn occasionally

Make sure that sandal straps or shoe seams do not cause pressure on the foot, including the bunion

 

 

Consult one of our podiatrists at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville! He or she will do a thorough podiatric evaluation of your problem and suggest treatments that are appropriate for your condition. These may include advice on the choice of shoes/sandals, laser analgesic treatment, prescription of anti-inflammatory medication, prescription and manufacturing of custom-made functional foot orthotics. In some cases, surgery will be an option to be discussed.

oignon-pied.jpg

A FEW TIPS

If you are experiencing pain, and/or while waiting for your appointment with one of our podiatrists :

  • Wear good width shoes with arch support such as sneakers

  • Apply ice (10 minutes every hour) or a topical anti-inflammatory or analgesic cream

  • Consult one of our podiatrists at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

bottom of page

L'oignon

HALLUX ABDUCTO VALGUS ET OIGNON DU TAILLEUR

L’oignon ou hallux abducto valgus (HAV) est une déformation du gros orteil au niveau du métatarse. Il s’agit d’une déviation de l’os métatarsien vers l’extérieur du pied, ce qui entraîne une déviation du gros orteil vers les autres orteils. 

oignon-tailleur.jpg

L'OIGNON DU TAILLEUR

À propos

L’oignon du tailleur est le même type de déformation qui affecte le cinquième orteil. Cette déviation peut demeurer stable ou s’accentuer avec le temps. Elle peut être douloureuse ou non. La plus grande contrainte que vivent habituellement les gens qui en sont affectés est la difficulté à trouver des chaussures assez larges au niveau de l’avant-pied.

 

L’oignon peut être acquis ou héréditaire. L’oignon acquis est causé par un déficit des systèmes ostéo-articulaire et ligamentaire (vieillissement, microtraumatismes et surcharge) et représente près de 70 % des cas. L’oignon héréditaire apparait habituellement dans les vingt premières années de vie d’une personne et est dit « juvénile ». Il représente près de 30 % des cas. Ainsi, l’oignon peut se retrouver chez toutes les personnes, toutefois les femmes en sont le plus souvent atteintes. Le port de chaussures trop courtes, trop étroites et/ou de talons hauts peut aggraver cette affection. Chez l’homme, elle est souvent causée par la présence de pieds plats ou est héréditaire.

 

À FAIRE

Pour éviter la douleur

Toujours choisir des chaussures de la bonne taille, bonne largeur et bonne profondeur.

 

Magasiner en après-midi ou en soirée, les pieds sont plus enflés !

 

Favoriser les talons de 4 cm (1 ½ ‘’) maximum.

 

Les talons hauts sont à porter à l’occasion.

S’assurer que les courroies de sandales ou les coutures de chaussures ne causent pas de pression sur le pied, incluant l’oignon.

 

 

Consultez un de nos podiatres à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville! Il fera une évaluation podiatrique exhaustive de votre problème et vous proposera des traitements adaptés à votre condition. Ceux-ci peuvent inclure des conseils sur le choix de chaussures/sandales, le traitement laser analgésique, la prescription de médicaments anti-inflammatoires, la prescription et fabrication d’orthèses plantaires fonctionnelles sur mesure. Dans certains cas, la chirurgie sera une option à discuter. 

oignon-pied.jpg

QUELQUES CONSEILS

Si vous éprouvez de la douleur, et/ou en attendant votre rendez-vous avec un de nos podiatres :

  • Porter des chaussures de bonne largeur avec un support arche de type espadrilles

  • Appliquer de la glace (10 minutes toutes les heures) ou une crème topique anti-inflammatoire ou analgésique

  • Consulter un de nos podiatres à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville