top of page

Plantar
fasciitis

OR HEEL SPUR

One of the frequent causes of consultation at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville is heel pain. By reading this text you will know the distinction between plantar fasciitis and heel spur!

fasciite-plantaire.jpg

WHAT IS A PLANTAR FASCIITIS

About this condition

Plantar fasciitis (plantar fasciopathy) is an inflammation of the plantar fascia. The plantar fascia is a fan-shaped ligament that attaches to the heel bone (calcaneum) up to the toes and forms the arch of the foot. People with plantar fasciitis experience intense pain in the heel and sometimes in the sole of the foot. The pain is often described as a needle or rock under the heel, which can radiate into the arch or the back and sides of the heel. The pain is often more present during the first steps in the morning, when getting up from a chair or at the end of the day. This pain often arrives gradually and worsens over time.

voirplus

THE CAUSES

Several causes, alone or in combination, can lead to plantar fasciitis :

Rapid weight gain such as during pregnancy

 


Overweight

Significant physical activity related to work or sports activities (increased frequency, duration and/or intensity)

 

Wearing inappropriate shoes (beach sandals, flat shoes, etc.)

 

Flat feet

 

Any other situation that causes stretching or inflammation of the plantar fascia (feet on a ladder rung for an extended period of time, etc.)

 

 

A consultation will allow podiatrists to identify the cause of your fasciitis and to offer you the appropriate treatments according to your condition and your goals.

fasciite-plantaire-pied.jpg

Did you know...

In popular culture, heel pain is often referred to as heel spur. Why? Because the heel spur causes the same pain as the plantar fasciitis mentioned above. What distinguishes the two lesions is that plantar fasciitis is an inflammation of the ligament (fascia) that is attached to the heel bone. The heel spur is the calcification of this ligament (fascia) at its base on the bone, which causes a horizontal bony outgrowth, visible on x-ray.

 

It is not possible to break the heel spur by various so-called therapeutic treatments. The spur will always be present. However, it is possible to manage or heal the pain in the heel. To do so, consult one of our podiatrists from the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville. A variety of treatments, both single and in combination, are available to patients with this injury. Among these, apart from the conservative treatments of ice/heat, stretching, massage, analgesic/anti-inflammatory creams, we can offer analgesic laser treatments, taping/strapping, systemic anti-inflammatories, localized infiltration, heel pads, foot orthotics, etc.

A FEW TIPS

Whether you are in pain and/or waiting for your appointment with one of our podiatrists here are some tips:

  • Move your feet and toes in all directions before getting out of bed and before getting up from a sitting position

  • Wear shoes with an arch support such as sneakers

  • Apply ice (10 minutes every hour) or a topical anti-inflammatory or analgesic cream

  • Consult one of our podiatrists at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

bottom of page

La fasciite
plantaire

OU L'ÉPINE DE LENOIR

Une de causes fréquentes de consultation à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville est la douleur au talon. En lisant ce texte vous saurez faire la distinction entre une fasciite plantaire et une épine de Lenoir !

fasciite-plantaire.jpg

QU'EST-CE QU'UNE FASCIITE PLANTAIRE?

À propos

La fasciite plantaire (aponévrosite plantaire, fasciopathie plantaire) est une inflammation du fascia plantaire. Le fascia plantaire est un ligament en forme d’éventail qui s’attache sur l’os du talon (calcanéum) jusqu’aux orteils et forme l’arche du pied. Les personnes atteintes d’une fasciite plantaire ressentent une douleur intense au niveau du talon et quelques fois dans la plante du pied. La douleur est souvent décrite comme une aiguille ou une roche sous le talon, celle-ci peut irradier jusque dans l’arche ou l’arrière et les côtés du talon. Les douleurs sont souvent plus présentes lors des premiers pas le matin, en se levant d’une chaise ou en fin de journée. Cette douleur arrive souvent graduellement et s’aggrave avec le temps.

 

LES CAUSES

Plusieurs causes, seules ou en combinaison, peuvent entraîner une fasciite plantaire, soit :

Prise de poids rapide comme en période de grossesse

 

Surcharge pondérale

 

Activité physique importante, qu’elle soit reliée au travail ou à des activités sportives (augmentation de la fréquence, de la durée et/ou de l’intensité)

 

Port de chaussures inadéquates (sandale de plage, souliers plats, etc.)

 

Pieds plats

 

Toute autre situation qui entraîne un étirement ou une inflammation du fascia plantaire (les pieds sur un barreau d’échelle pendant de longues heures, etc.)

 

 

Une consultation permettra d’identifier la cause de votre fasciite et de vous offrir les traitements appropriés selon votre condition et vos objectifs.

fasciite-plantaire-pied.jpg

Saviez-vous que...

​Dans la culture populaire, la douleur au talon est souvent appelée épine de Lenoir.  Pourquoi ? Parce que l’épine de Lenoir entraîne les mêmes douleurs que la fasciite plantaire, décrites ci-dessus. Ce qui distingue les deux lésions est que la fasciite plantaire est l’inflammation du ligament (fascia) qui est attaché sur l’os du talon. L’épine de Lenoir est la calcification de ce ligament (fascia) à sa base sur l’os, ce qui provoque une excroissance osseuse horizontale, visible à la radiographie.

 

Il n’est pas possible de briser l’épine de Lenoir par divers traitements dits thérapeutiques. L’épine sera toujours présente. Par contre il est possible de gérer, voire régler la douleur au talon. Pour ce faire, consultez un des podiatres à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville. Une foule de traitements, simples ou en combinaison, s’offrent aux patients atteints de cette blessure. Parmi ceux-ci, mis à part les traitements conservateurs de glace/chaleur, étirements, massages, crèmes analgésiques/anti-inflammatoires, nous pouvons offrir des traitements de laser analgésique, de taping/strappage, d’anti-inflammtoires systémiques, d’infiltration localisée de cortisone, de talonnettes, d’orthèses plantaires, etc.

QUELQUES CONSEILS

Si vous éprouvez de la douleur, et/ou en attendant votre rendez-vous avec un de nos podiatres :

  • Bouger les pieds et les orteils dans tous les sens avant la sortie du lit et avant de se lever d’une position assise

  • Porter des chaussures avec un support arche de type espadrilles

  • Appliquer de la glace (10 minutes toutes les heures) ou une crème topique anti-inflammatoire ou analgésique

  • Consulter un de nos podiatres à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville