top of page

Plantar wart

VIRAL LESIONS

Warts are caused by a virus of the human papilloma family (HPV). There are several strains of this virus, some of which preferentially colonize the feet. They are small, sometimes rough, benign lesions that form on the outer layer of the skin and are very delineated.

verrue-plantaire.jpg

PLANTAR WARTS

About this condition

The appearance may be round or cauliflower-like, with or without small black dots. They can range from a few millimeters in diameter to several millimeters in size, and are sometimes very painful when pressure is applied to the affected area.

 

Warts are contagious and the virus can survive for several days on a surface (floor, carpet, etc.), which promotes contagion. It has been shown that approximately 7 to 11% of the population is infected. Children and teenagers are most likely to be affected, but adults can also be infected. Warts can spread within a person by infecting the skin near the first lesions or on the other foot. The spread is further enhanced when the person touches the lesion with bare hands, scratches it, and continues to observe other areas of the foot or the other foot. Thus, the hands become the vector of propagation!

 

 

A FEW ADVICE TO

Avoid them...

•   Avoid walking barefoot in public places such as swimming pools, locker rooms, hotel rooms, etc.

•   Inspect your feet occasionally to quickly detect the presence of a wart

 

 

If you suspect you have a plantar wart and/or are waiting for your podiatrist appointment, it is recommended to

Avoid walking barefoot in public places such as swimming pools, locker rooms, hotel rooms, etc.

Avoid sharing beach shoes or sandals

Avoid touching the wart with bare hands

Avoid using a pumice stone or other tool to thin the wart, you risk spreading it!

Wear stockings in your shoes

When someone has plantar warts in your home, clean the shower with disinfectant for germs and bacteria before use, or wear beach sandals

Consult a podiatrist at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

 

 

Inspect your feet occasionally to detect the presence of a plantar wart early. Different treatments are available to the patient, so after a complete clinical evaluation, the podiatrist will discuss and proceed with the appropriate treatment for you.

voirplus
bottom of page

La verrue plantaire

LÉSIONS VIRALES

Les verrues sont causées par un virus de la famille du papillome humain (VPH). Il existe plusieurs souches de ce virus dont certaines colonisent préférentiellement les pieds. Ce sont de petites lésions, parfois rugueuses, bénignes qui se forment sur la couche externe de la peau et très délimitées. 

verrue-plantaire.jpg

LES VERRUES PLANTAIRES

À propos

L’apparence peut être de forme ronde ou de type chou-fleur, avec ou sans petits points noirs. Elles peuvent mesurer de quelques millimètres de diamètre à plusieurs millimètres de grosseur, et elles sont parfois très douloureuses lorsqu’on exerce une pression à l’endroit affecté. Les verrues sont contagieuses et le virus pourrait survivre plusieurs jours sur une surface (plancher, tapis, etc.), ce qui favorise la contagion. Il a été démontré qu’environ 7 à 11 % de la population en est infectée.

 

Les enfants et les adolescents sont les plus susceptibles d’être atteints, mais les adultes peuvent aussi être infectés. Les verrues peuvent se propager chez une même personne en infectant la peau à proximité des premières lésions ou sur l’autre pied. La propagation est d’autant plus possible lorsque la personne touche la lésion à mains nues, la gratte et poursuit ses observations sur les autres régions du pied ou l’autre pied. Ainsi, les mains deviennent le vecteur de propagation !

 

 

QUELQUES CONSEILS POUR

les éviter...

•    Éviter de marcher pieds nus dans les endroits publics tels que piscine, vestiaire, chambre d’hôtel, etc.

•    Inspecter vos pieds à l’occasion pour détecter rapidement la présence d’une verrue

 

 

Si vous suspectez avoir une verrue et/ou êtes en attente de votre rendez-vous chez le podiatre, en plus des conseils précédents, il est recommandé de :

Éviter de marcher pieds nus dans les endroits publics tels que piscine, vestiaire, chambre d’hôtel, etc.

Éviter de partager les chaussures ou sandales de plage

Éviter de toucher la verrue à mains nues

Éviter d’utiliser une pierre ponce ou autre outil pour amincir la verrue, vous risquez de la propager!

Porter des bas dans vos chaussures

Lorsqu’une personne est atteinte de verrues plantaires à votre domicile, nettoyer la douche avec un désinfectant de germes et bactéries avant son utilisation, ou porter des sandales de plage

Consulter un podiatre de la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

 

 

Inspecter vos pieds à l’occasion pour détecter rapidement la présence d’une verrue plantaire. Différents traitements s’offrent au patient, c’est pourquoi, après une évaluation clinique complète, le podiatre discutera et procédera au traitement approprié pour vous.