top of page

Ankle sprain

DAMAGED LIGAMENTS

An ankle sprain is damage to the ligaments that can result in significant pain, bruising and/or swelling of the affected ankle. The ligament is the structure that connects two bones together and maintains the integrity of the joint between these two bones and the surrounding structures (muscles, tendons, capsules, joint bursa and other bones).

entorse-pied.jpg

ANKLE SPRAIN

About this condition

During this trauma, one or more ligaments can be stretched and, in some cases, can be torn, causing difficulty walking on the injured foot. In the worst case, the person will also suffer from an avulsion fracture of one of the bones to which the ligament is attached. This injury often occurs during sports involving jumping such as basketball and volleyball. People who have hyperlaxity of the ankle joints are more likely to suffer from sprains.

 

It is therefore important to consult a podiatrist who will be able to help you heal this injury and advise you on preventive measures to avoid recurrence of ankle sprains. Several possible treatments alone or combined are offered at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville. Among these, there is the painless analgesic laser, neuro-proprioceptive taping, and strength and proprioception rehabilitation exercises. It is also possible to refer to other health professionals depending on the need identified.

voirplus

THINGS TO DO

If you have a sprained ankle and/or are waiting for your appointment with one of our podiatrists:

Rest of the affected foot

Ice: Apply ice for 10 minutes every hour

Elevation of the affected leg: Lie down and rest on a pillow

 

Compression: Elastic ankle bandage

 

Walk with a cane or crutches if necessary

 

Apply an analgesic or anti-inflammatory cream if necessary

 

Consult one of our podiatrists at the Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

 

 

entorse-cheville.jpg
bottom of page

L'entorse

OU FOULURE DE LA CHEVILLE

L’entorse (ou foulure) de la cheville est un dommage causé aux ligaments qui peut se traduire par une douleur importante, un hématome et/ou de l’enflure de la cheville affectée. Le ligament est la structure qui relie deux os ensemble et qui permet le maintien de l’intégrité de l’articulation entre ces deux os et les structures environnantes (muscles, tendons, capsules, bourse articulaire et les autres os). 

entorse-pied.jpg

L'ENTORSE DE LA CHEVILLE

À propos

Lors de ce traumatisme, un ou plusieurs ligaments peuvent être étirés et pourraient, dans certains cas, être déchirés, entraînant de la difficulté à marcher sur le pied blessé. Dans le pire des cas, la personne subira également une fracture d’avulsion d’un des os sur lequel le ligament est attaché. Cette blessure survient souvent lors de la pratique de sport impliquant des sauts tels le basketball et le volleyball. Les gens qui ont une hyperlaxité des articulations de la cheville sont plus sujets à souffrir d’entorse.

 

Il est donc important de consulter un podiatre qui pourra vous aider à guérir cette blessure et vous conseiller sur les mesures préventives à adopter pour éviter les récidives d’entorse de la cheville. Plusieurs traitements possibles seuls ou combinés sont offerts à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville. Parmi ceux-ci, il y a le laser analgésique sans douleur, le taping neuro-proprioceptif, et les exercices de réhabilitation de la force et la proprioception. Il est également possible de référer à d’autres professionnels de la santé selon le besoin identifié.

 

À FAIRE

Si vous souffrez d’une entorse de la cheville et/ou vous êtes en attente de votre rendez-vous avec un de nos podiatres :

Repos du pied atteint

Glace : Appliquer de la glace pendant 10 minutes toutes les heures

Élévation de la jambe atteinte : Allonger et poser sur un coussin

 

Compression : Bandage élastique de la cheville

 

Marcher avec une canne ou des béquilles si nécessaire

 

Appliquer une crème analgésique ou anti-inflammatoire au besoin

 

Consulter un de nos podiatres à la Clinique de Podiatrie Montarville

 

 

entorse-cheville.jpg